top of page

#NOLA2015

Hello. As I write (type?) this I am currently laying on my bed in my dormroom at my new uni this semester. That's right: I'm at UNO this semester and let me tell you, it's quite the change. To name a few: The weather: IT. IS. SO. COLD. Or at least, so much colder than I'm used to back home in my lovely Caribbean Island. The food: Different, but edible. (THANK YOU MEAL PASS). The people: NOLA residents have been pretty cool with answering my questions. The staff have been nothing but kind (my door keeps getting jammed and they've helped me out twice already). The professors all seem okay so far. The other exchange students are my buddies – I even met one from Puerto Rico which is the best. The classes: Interesting so far, though I'm taking a few that are about New Orleans so a lot of references they make just go over my head. The room: I accidentally signed up for a single, so no roommates and plenty of space. The city: So far, so lovely & lively. So yeah. That, in a nutshell, has been my experience here in New Orleans for the last 11 days. Yesterday we went to the local Zoo, then stopped at a random Gumbo Stop to eat, and finally ended up going to the movies. I went to a lounge the last weekend and also got kidnapped by a cab driver for about 2 hours (now THAT'S a story for another time). All in all, things have been going as best they can. I already have some homework I need to get to, and unlike back home, there are midterms here which are just around the corner. Also around the corner? Mardi Gras. BUT! Before that there's Homecoming this week, which like, how gringo can you get right? Ha. Anyway, that's it for now, just though I'd give you guys an update on how things are so far. I'll try to start my supposedly weekly updates soon now that I'm more settled. 'Till then, sf. P.S. Homesickness Report: Oovoo has been my savior.

bottom of page