top of page

"No one man should have all that power"

So... (btw is it weird that I start almost every post with the word so? anyways) I was going to blog about things this lovely Thursday morning and share them with you guys, but I've hit a bit (or a large) bump in the road during this process. I was going to talk about how I was 2/2 on car trouble in the last week (hit a MANHOLE that lbh I knew was there and I essentially majorly fucked up and blew my tire in the process & then yesterday morning on my way to university – on my way to a fucking 8AM Physical Education aka Health Course Elective 3 fucking chapters long test thank you very much – my car stalled like nobody's business) but I've since changed my mind. I've decided to talk about something else real quick while I'm typing this up. And that's the fact that right now I have no power. And I don't mean this in a metaphorical or symbolic or poetic sense, but like literally. There's no electricity in my house right now. Like, none. I tweeted about a week ago, when this same incident happened that: “If every time the power goes out your first thought is they cut it, #youmustbemiddleclass” (and like holla at me over on my twitter if you want guys haha) and ANYWAY I stand by that. Because I legit have no idea if right now this power outage is due to work being done in the area – like it happened to be last time – or if it's that time of the month were our debts catch up with us and therefore we get C U T O F F. (UPDATE: It's the latter lol) So, yeah. This is more than a fluke or a onetime only deal – this is real life and it's struggles for me and my family, and probably for a lot of families out there. It's definitely something that leaves me frustrated and sometimes angry, but I think mostly sad. Because struggle is never something you want to see your parents go through, it's never something that feels like a valuable life lesson when it happens, and rarely does struggle get a permanent solution. This is real life. This is my life. Regular power cuts (among other things), but you know what? Despite all that I'm not one to be sad about the situation in general. My family makes the most of what it's got and I wouldn't trade them for anything in the world. So, right now we may be in a pickle – but we always stand back up after being pushed down. We struggle, but we do not let defeat win (even if sometimes that sounds like the easiest choice to make). Life is full of struggle, and while it can get exhausting to have to keep going through (the same) obstacles and climbing (the same) mountains, well we're sure to keep going. So, I'll see you on the other side, okay? I already know the way there. -SF

bottom of page